children with fur

If you’ve met me for any length of time, you know rescuing dogs is the driving goal in my life. Having a facility to bring abandoned dogs in, find foster homes, and rehabilitate dogs is what I work towards everyday. It’s something that takes time and money, so right now I do what I can by taking in Sammie and Lex and finding homes for other dogs I come across.

However, I know that shelters always need more hands. Working in a shelter is a fear I’ve never been able to conquer. I know there are no-kill shelters out there, but the kill shelters are the ones that need help the most. Seeing those helpless animals in such a sad situation would be more than I could handle. Even looking at shelter websites brings tears to my eyes. But I feel like as someone who is so quick to defend a dog and make more than enough reasons to bring him or her home that I need to start volunteering in a shelter and helping these dogs as much as I can.

Its scary. Going into a place knowing full well you won’t solve all their problems. It breaks my heart to think about. But you gotta do what you gotta do. And I gotta help more dogs find loving homes and love as many dogs as I can.

spring 2010 002 Bay spring 2010 001

Top: Our dog, sweet Sammie and Bailey – a rescue from the Blacksburg Humane Society. Possibly the most passionate dog I’ve ever met. So happy we brought her home to live with my two best friends. Middle: Rusty is the big one smelling Sammie. He now lives with my friend and old roommate, Liz. Such a sweetheart. And Toula! My dad brought her home from a pet store – she was a clearance puppy who had never seen grass. Now she is the queen of the castle and my brother and sister-in-law’s house. We don’t usually make her wear handkerchiefs. And the last dog: Piper – my first dog, my best friend.

 I also want to say that I am not opposed to dogs coming from breeders. All dogs deserve love, all dogs deserve homes. My Welsh Corgi, Piper, came from a breeder. I can’t imagine life without her. All I ask of anyone is to be kind to your animals and allow them to be the loving animals they want to be.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 19:09:57

    nice piece, MK! are you really going to volunteer? sounds like a good thing to do!

    Reply

  2. Josh
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 12:14:48

    I miss all these animals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

